Home > Cooking, Gluten Free mama, Pizza > Pizza…such a simple idea

Pizza…such a simple idea

In the past, Kate and I would decide that we wanted pizza…but not just any pizza would do. No…we wanted a BBQ Chicken Pizza. Sounds strange, I know…but it really is good. Pizza Hut makes a fairly good BBQ chicken pizza, as does a local pizza place here in town that uses a wood oven to bake things in (om nom nom), but neither of these places offer the delectable treat that is BBQ Chicken Pizza in a gluten free variety (although I was told yesterday by someone via email that a local sandwich place makes gluten free pizzas because one of the owners has Celiac’s). So…what is a person who can’t have gluten supposed to do in a situation such as this? Why…make your own, of course!

The last time Kate and I went to Real Foods, she saw a package of Mama’s Pizza Crust Mix (gluten free, of course) and she bought it for just this kind of project. So, being the enterprising sort of guy that I am, I started making the dough.

The instructions on the back are really easy to follow. 3/4 cup water, the yeast packet that is also in the bag and 1 tsp of sugar in a bowl to activate the yeast. Then the contents of the package minus 1/4 cup of the flour (for when you roll it out), 1/2 cup milk, 1 egg, 2 tbsp oil and some vinegar (which I left out because I couldn’t figure out what purpose it served and everything turned out ok) into a stand mixer. When the yeast slurry starts foaming (at the mouth…hahah!), pour it into the flour mixture and mix mix mix (or, do what I did…turn it on and walk away to check on the chicken that…oops…is almost burning on the stovetop). Take the very doughy mixture out and put it onto a sheet pan that has been lightly oiled and roll it out (note: I don’t have a rolling pin, so I just kind of mashed it out into a semi-circle, then got a water bottle out and used it to “roll” the stuff about a bit…it worked well, and Alton Brown would be proud of me, I think) until it’s about 1/4″ thick. Let it rest for 15-50 minuted, then into a 400 degree oven (or 425 for those in higher altitudes!) for 12 minutes.

Toppings! I used roughly 2 chicken breasts cooked up and cut into smallish pieces, 1/2 a medium onion diced and then sauteed in butter (I mean, why the heck not, right?) and then about 1/2 cup BBQ sauce (ok…so we didn’t actually measure this out…we just kinda squirted a bunch onto the dough and then went to town with a brush to smear it all over (“smear”…what a great cooking word)). Top all of this by whatever cheese that you happen to have (we had a mixture of Mozzarella and Cheddar, so we used that) and then back into the oven for 15 minutes or so (you know, before the cheese turns into liquid hot magma or starts burning…yuck).

We cut it up in strips like they used to do in the town I went to college in and then took a bite (after allowing sufficient time to cool, of course…who wants to eat something when you cant taste it because you don’t have any functioning taste buds any more?). Honestly, I think it’s better than the stuff that you can get from Pizza Hut and, had I not known that it was gluten free dough, I wouldn’t have been able to tell. So…+1 awesome point to the Gluten Free Mama company…you do excellent work.

  1. January 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Great information Scott. Can I share your blog with my patients who have been reluctant to make the changes needed to get healthy. I have studied with Dr Tom O’Brien and he is fast becoming the expert in Gluten intolerance. Visit his site and read all you can absorb. Keep going back because he is always updating the information. http://www.thedr.com/

    Doug

  2. January 26, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Sure thing! Kate and I were talking about this the other day…that this is really a way for me to write my thoughts and feelings out, but that if it ended up helping anyone else, that’s awesome.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

