Home > Gluten Intolerance, Uncategorized > You win some…you lose some…

You win some…you lose some…

Vince Lombardi, former coach for the Green Bay Packers, once said, “Dictionary is the only place that success comes before work. Hard work is the price we must pay for success. I think you can accomplish anything if you are willing to pay the price.” This quote, and the hundreds of others that came from him, is something that I need to keep in mind as I go through this process of learning how to cook once again. That sounds VERY fatalistic (sorry), but the growing pains I’m going through are, by definition, painful. It’s not as easy as I thought it was going to be. Quite frankly, it’s hard, but given the fact that I feel so much better both physically as well as emotionally…isn’t that a price worth paying? I think so…I just have to remember that.

This weekend was a weekend of experiments…both successful ones and total failures. I’ll talk about the failure first, then the success…simply because I want to leave you, dear reader, with a game winning home run rather than a epic failure.

Mardi Gras season is upon us. Well, I say “us” in the global sense as I no longer live in Louisiana. While you can take the man out of Louisiana, you can never take Louisiana out of the man…or something.  Anyway, I decided that I wanted to try and experiment and make a King Cake. I took a recipe by Emeril and made it Gluten Free by just substituting GF AP flour. Well…through a cascading series of mistakes, the King Cake ended up being something more along the lines of building materials instead of something that was yummy to eat (truth be told, I didn’t eat any of it and Kate managed to choke down a small piece). The mistakes I think I made: 1) While proofing the dough, don’t set it above the exhaust from the oven as it will (and did) cook some of the dough. 2) I think, but am not sure, that I need to subtract a little of the flour for each of the tsp of Xantham Gum. 3) The dough was dense…I’m not sure how or why, but I have to figure this out or will be doomed to repeat the mistakes.

So, on top of the King Cake experiment, Kate bought me a gluten free baking book and I picked one of the yummier (is that a word? Most yummy? Yummiest? Whatever) sounding recipes to make…Lemon Loaf Cake. If you’ve ever been to Starbucks (if you haven’t you must be from Mars), you may have seen their Lemon Loaf Cake there. Well, that was what I was hoping to be able to duplicate. I ended up making two batches of this because the first one came out tasting better than I had hoped…and, um…well…we ate it all. Oops! I made more and brought some to work today. It’s pictured above with some Strawberry Sorbet that just made everything taste awesome (well, it tasted awesome by itself, but awesome + awesome = awesomer…or something).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

