Home > Uncategorized > Off Gluten, what’s normal any more?

Off Gluten, what’s normal any more?

A while back, when I first started this whole “no gluten” thing, I tried making Beef and Cheese Enchiladas but I tried using the corn tortillas instead of flour…well, for obvious reasons! The corn tortillas were, of course, gluten free, but as they were corn, they ended up breaking before I could even roll them (you know what I mean…you start to roll it and the thing cracks open thus spilling all the goodness out into whatever container you were going to place the wonderfully rolled versions into). Well, I tried not to get frustrated and ended up making something that was equally as good, but decidedly not enchiladas. I call it…Enchilada Casserole! (Please note, I’m fully aware that this existed WELL before I made it at my house…but I was rather pleased with myself for rolling with the setback and just making something yummy anyway.)

Make the enchilada filling as normal (1/2 onion sauteed, 1 lb beef browned and drained, 3/4 cup enchilada sauce and a good handful of cheese all mixed together).

Put a thin layer of the enchilada sauce into the bottom of the casserole dish (or whatever) and spread it evenly over the surface.

Put corn tortillas one layer thick over the whole bottom (overlap where necessary…and it will be necessary).

Put the meat mixture over this layer of tortillas and spread it out evenly.

Put some more cheese and more enchilada sauce over the top of this (who doesn’t want cheese…honestly?).

Put another layer of tortilla shells over the top of this, put even MORE cheese and the rest of the enchilada sauce over the top of this.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or so (you’ll know when it’s ready…the cheese will look like molten goodness and the smell…ooooh the smell…).

Other than trying to make things work with cooking, I’ve noticed some side-effects to this whole thing. Now…I’m not entirely sure that this is all related, but I can say that I wasn’t experiencing these issues before…so take it all with a grain of salt.

I’ve been having some really bad dreams. Like…BAD bad dreams. As in, wake up in the middle of the night and not want to go back to sleep bad dreams…and generally all revolving around the bad relationships that I’ve had in the past. After doing some online research, I have found that I’m not the only one with this problem (not the bad relationships part, although I’m sure that’s true as well, but the dreams)…the bad thing is, from what I’ve read, this could take weeks to months to get over. One person said that your body has gone without REM sleep for so long that it’s trying to catch up and making up for lost time. Stop already! I get it…I’ve had bad relationships…but they are all in the past. And nobody wants to relive bad memories. So…here’s to hoping it passes quickly.

Eat on, my friends.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

