Home > Bread, Cooking, Gluten Intolerance > Sloppy Joes…on hamburger buns!!

Sloppy Joes…on hamburger buns!!

Yesterday, I kept trying to think of something to make for dinner that would be yummy to eat, as well as something that would be FUN to eat. There are a lot of things that are yummy to eat…but to me, there is nothing more fun to eat than Sloppy Joes! The only problem for me was the fact that I ALWAYS eat sloppy joes on some sort of bread and, having this whole GI thing, I needed a way to meet this requirement. What to do, what to do?

Kate and I were talking about this before I left work for the day and she found a link to a recipe for some buns that was linked a bunch of times from other places. So, I went HERE and started looking at the recipe to figure out what stuff I needed to get.

I already had rice flour (I had brown rice flour, but I figured it was pretty much the same and, as they came out great, I’ll stick to my assumption), tapioca starch, potato starch and most of the other stuff (having picked them up at the local Real/Whole Foods market), but was missing 3 key ingredients: Guar Gum, Amaranth Flour and Buttermilk Powder. Not knowing where to turn to, I went back to the Real/Whole Foods market to see if they had any of them. Imagine my surprise when they had all three!

Guar Gum is apparently a ground up seed that adds resiliency to dough and makes the texture better somehow. Amaranth Flour is derived from ground up Amaranth seeds (big surprise there!), and really is interesting as it adds a nutty flavor to the baked good…so I can see where that might be fun to use in other applications such as cookies or sweet breads. And Buttermilk Powder is…um…powdered Buttermilk.

One thing I realized AFTER starting to put everything together was something that I’m sure most people already knew…Instant yeast is not the same as Active yeast. I only had the active variety and, as such, it took a bit longer to proof the dough as I neglected to proof the yeast first (oops). Now I know…but if you end up doing the same thing and it says to proof for 35-40 minutes…I proofed mine for 1.5 hours. Like I said, it takes a bit longer (but the flavor….mmmmm).

After baking the buns (which, by the way, look NOTHING like their mass-produced brethren) for the allotted amount of time, I took them out of the oven and cut one in half to make sure it was done (it was…whew). Kate and I both generously applied the sloppy joe mixture (made from scratch also) to the opened buns (we both did open-faced versions) and then dug in.

Honestly, I don’t know why anyone would buy hamburger buns from the store. These are SIMPLE to make, MUCH tastier than the store bought versions, and have exactly the right consistency and “mouth feel” that one would expect. Oh, and the nutty flavor that I mentioned before went GREAT with this application of the buns. Give it a shot…really. It’s good, I promise!

Until next time…happy eating.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 15, 2011 at 10:15 am

Leave a Reply

