Home > Baking, Bread, Gluten Intolerance > Mmm…Pumpkin Bread

Mmm…Pumpkin Bread

I got to leave work early yesterday due to good behavior (hah…let’s face it, we all know THAT’S not true…) and wanted to try to find a way to use my time as wisely as I could. As I have stated before, cooking and baking are really good ways for me to mentally unwind…so, I decided I would make some sweet breads (the bread that is sweet, not the parts of animals…I wouldn’t know how to begin making those, but the bread, I have that down).

First, I made a double batch of the lemon cake/bread that I’ve written about here before. It’s getting to the point that I just dumped everything in the mixing bowl, attached it to the mixer and let it do it’s thing. VERY good eats.

Another sweet bread I’ve always enjoyed making, especially back in the “gluten days” (not like it was really all that long ago…heh…”Back when I was a youngster…”) is Pumpkin Bread. To me, the smell of fresh pumpkin bread wafting through the house when it’s cold outside (which it still is here)…nothing beats it. Well, perhaps taking that same bread, cutting off a slice while it’s still warm and putting butter on it and taking a bite…that might beat it, but just barely. The problem is, I’ve never made the recipe I’ve always made in the past gluten free…so where to begin? As an experiment, I just changed 2 things and I have to tell you…the results were awesome!

First, preheat the oven to 325 (350 for those in higher altitudes!).

Cream together 2 3/4 cup sugar and 1 cup butter softened (I said it was good, not necessarily good for you!)

Add to that 3 large eggs and 2 cups of pureed pumpkin (be sure NOT to use the pumpkin pie mix in a can…that won’t work as well)

Mix that all together in the mixer until it’s fairly uniform.

Sift together(or you can do like I did and just dump it all in the pumpkin mixture above)

3 1/2 cups Brown Rice Flour LESS 1.5 tsp

1.5 tsp Xantham Gum

3 1/2 tsp (or, 1Tbsp and 1/2 tsp…same thing) Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1 tsp Cinnamon

1 tsp Allspice

1/4 tsp Cloves

Add this mixture to the pumpkin mixture (unless you did it the way I did above) and combine until it’s uniform. Put this mixture in greased and floured (or greased and sugared…for sweet breads, it adds a nice layer of crunchy sweetness on the outside…om nom) bread pan (or small loaf pans…it makes about 6 of the smaller ones and 1 big one) and bake for 1 hour.

You can ALSO add 1 cup chopped nuts and 1 cup raisins…but I’m a purist when it comes to pumpkin bread. If you DO add them…do it before you put it in the pans as that would just be funny.

SERIOUSLY good eats…I was very pleased with the results. If you try this out and like it, let me know…am interested to hear how it turns out for other people, or if you make changes to it. As always, happy eating!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

