Home > Baking, Bread, Cooking, Gluten Intolerance > It comes in waves…

It comes in waves…

I’ve decided that this whole gluten free thing isn’t that bad, but when it gets bad…it’s bad. Take, for instance, this last week. Friday, I decided to make some more bread (as I had given most of it away from the last batch I made), so I made two batches of pumpkin bread (one with xantham gum and one without just to experiment) and two batches of lemon bread. Both were really good and tasty.

Then, Sunday I woke up and made buttermilk biscuits again simply because it was Sunday and I wanted them. I ate them (as did Kate and her sister) and enjoyed them a lot. We ended up making stir fry for dinner that night and it, also, was good.

On the way to work Monday, I stopped at a local coffee shop/sandwich place and talked with the owner for a bit. There were doughnuts on the counter and the one thought that flew through my mind at Warp 10 was “I want a doughnut.” Sure…I DID want a doughnut…but that was the LAST thing I needed. I don’t know of any way to MAKE doughnuts…so until that happens, I just have to look at them longingly. With drool running down my chin and evil…EVIL…thoughts running through my mind. Must control urge to DEVOUR doughnut!!!

Last night, I made sloppy joe’s again because, let’s face it, they are good. The following is the recipe I used so you, too, can make SJ’s from scratch (well, almost):

Brown 1 lb ground beef (turkey, chicken, elephant if you have it…whatever)

Dice 1 medium onion and saute’ it until it’s done (you know what I mean…I hope)

Combine onions and DRAINED beef along with:

1/2 Cup Ketchup

1 Tbsp Sugar

1 tsp Vinegar

1 tsp Mustard (anything, really, from Dijon to the hotdog kind)

1 tsp Salt (or a “pinch” as it’s easier and you don’t have to wash the measuring device first…hehe)

1 tsp Ground Pepper (or, you can do what I did…just add till you are content)

OPTIONAL: I added about 1 Tbsp Sriracha to this for an extra kick

Cook all the ingredients together for 10 minutes or so or until whatever else you are cooking (fries, in our case) are done.

Enjoy on your home made hamburger buns. As always, happy eating! (Edit: The picture of the steak above is, of course, unrelated…except for the fact that it, too, was om nom)

  1. Lori
    September 1, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    That steak looks sooo good, I could eat my phone!! I didn’t realize how much of my regular diet involved gluten until I started eliminating the yummy evil food. My first attempt at gluten free bread didn’t go so well….the stray cats wouldn’t even eat it LOL but I’m going to attempt it again using one of your recipes. Thanks, for sharing 🙂

  1. March 15, 2011 at 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

