Home > Baking, Bread, Gluten Intolerance, Pasta > Pasta and Garlic Bread

Pasta and Garlic Bread

Been a while since I wrote anything here. I would like to say that it’s because I haven’t had any more problems with gluten or products containing gluten, but, as we all know, that’s just not true. No…I’ve been busy at work a lot lately. Lots going on and, unfortunately, the thing that suffers is the one thing that helps me through the stress of those things happening. How’s that for irony, eh?

Made a double batch of both the lemon and pumpkin breads. I ended up changing 2 things on the lemon bread recipe to kind of make it “mine” (although, legally, I’m not sure what constitutes one person’s recipe and one that was just modified by another person…so I still don’t want to post the recipe, just in case). I substituted white rice flour instead of the brown and added 1.5 tsp Xantham Gum to it and the bread is MUCH better. It really resembles bread now instead of…well, whatever it was that it resembled the first couple times. I made some and brought it to work for a meeting we had Monday, and everyone that mentioned it to me after said they liked it. So…that was a win. *Note: if anyone reading this knows anything about recipe and recipe rights and what constitutes ownership, please let me know!*

Last night, Kate and I decided we were both in a pasta mood…and I, being the bread lover that I am, wanted some garlic bread. Mmm…oh how I miss you, my garlic-y friend! Anyway, I had purchased a french bread and pizza dough mix from Wal-Mart the other day by Gluten Free Pantry and decided that now (well, not now…last night…you know what I mean) was the perfect time to bake this. I got out my trusty stoneware (by a company that rhymes with “Smampered Sneff”) and mixed up the bread mix as instructed on the packaging. Honestly, it was really good. The texture was perfect…very much like french bread. The flavor was a little bland, so next time I may try to put some roasted garlic cloves or something yummy in there to see how it turns out.

Other than that, have just been plugging along and stuff. One of my co-workers has had stomach problems for a long time and I finally convinced her to go off gluten and now, surprise, she feels great. The more I read about this and talk with people, the more people I see really do have a problem, and just don’t know it.

Anyway, I’ll keep experimenting with cooking as long as you keep reading! And, as always, happy eating.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

