Home > Cooking, Gluten Intolerance > Pan-Seared Tuna with Edamame Salad

Pan-Seared Tuna with Edamame Salad

Kate and I went to Safeway (TM…R…you know what I mean!) and were trying to find something om nom to eat for dinner (“om nom” should be an adjective, but can also be used as a verb, adverb, gerund, back-scratcher and just about anything else that you want it to be…that is, except for a swear word…nobody would say, “Oh yeah, well you’re an om nom!” At least, I hope they wouldn’t.) The guy working in the meat department was VERY helpful (THANKS LYNN!) and suggested we try something that he and his wife tried recently that was also gluten free!

I’ll be honest here…I have the recipe here in front of me, but didn’t really follow it as it went in a direction I didn’t like (WHY would you put cilantro in a dish with seared tuna…that’s too confusing for the taste buds!). Here’s what I did instead (if you want the recipe that was from Safeway, let me know an I’ll post it):

Ingredients For The Salad:

3/4 Cup Shelled Edamame, thawed.

3/4 Cup canned black-eyed peas, drained

1 Medium Red Bell Pepper Diced into 1/2 inch cubes

2 Tbsp sesame oil

2 Tbsp Tamari (it’s like Soy Sauce, kinda…but gluten free)

2 Tbsp Mae Ploy Sweet Chili Sauce (this stuff is so good, I could drink it straight from the bottle…purchased from Wal-Mart, of all places)

Take a bowl, put all these ingredients in there and stir. Ta Daaa!!! You’re done with that (although, you can taste-test a couple times to make sure it’s “ok for human consumption”, but it will be)

For the Tuna:

6 oz Sushi-grade Tuna Steak (this fed Kate and I and we were both full at the end)

1 Tbsp Sesame Seeds

1 Tbsp Garlic Powder

1 Tbsp fresh ground pepper

1 pinch of salt

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl and pat-dry the tuna steak, then “bread” the steak with the dry ingredients.

Once it rests for just a bit, put the steak in a HOT (and oiled) non-stick skillet and cook for 2 minutes, flip (the steak, mind you) and cook for 2 minutes more. Remove from heat and rest for 2 minutes. Cut into strips (the recipe said 1/4 in strips…but my knives apparently suck and I went with 1/2 in strips instead) of tuna, and plate on the salad.

Anyway…there it is…in all it’s om nom goodness (see what I did there?). Try it out and let me know what you think…and, as always, happy eating!

 

(PS: 210 calories, 5 g of fat….pretty good for you too!)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

