Home > Cooking, Gluten Intolerance > Chicken Fried Steak…yeah, it’s as good as it sounds

Chicken Fried Steak…yeah, it’s as good as it sounds

As you can probably tell from some of my other posts, I generally cook for my tastebuds which is, admittedly, probably not the best thing in the world to cook for (this is one of those times that my gut wishes to have words with my tastebuds, but, thankfully, they don’t speak the same language). The craving for Chicken Fried Steak, and the subsequent cooking and eating thereof, is a prime example of this.

I found THIS RECIPE for Gluten Free Chicken Fried Steak and am pleased to announce, it is good. I made some basic modifications to the recipe (I seem to do this for most of them) mostly for flavor enhancement.

#1) I took out the curry and added Cayenne pepper. Why? No real reason other than I had CP in my pantry and didn’t have curry. I will say that curry DOES have it’s place…I’m just not sure that it belongs in a southern dish such as this. Cayenne pepper however…well, my tastebuds were thankful. I don’t know how much I put in there as I generally don’t measure stuff…but I would say no more than 1tsp (well, maybe 2tsp). The other option is to only put a little in the breading for the steak, then add more when you’re making the gravy (om nom).

#2) I’ve made this twice and have used Bob’s Redmill ready-made GF flour once, and then made my own with rice flour and corn starch. Either way works fine (the second way is noticeably cheaper in the long run though!).

Now, when you make the gravy given the instructions listed there, at first, you’re going to think that there is NO WAY that the soupy mixture in your cast iron skillet will EVER thicken up enough to be called gravy. It will…be patient and stir stir stir. It helps to say, “Bubble bubble, toil and trouble…” here as it does kinda resemble some sort of demented mixture that witches would make (but it tastes VERY good!).

Oh! I also used cube steaks from Safeway as they were REALLY cheap and were fork tender after cooking.

If you decide to try this one out (and you should…even if you aren’t from the South), let me know how it turns out! And…as always, happy eating.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

