Home > Baking, Bread, Gluten Intolerance > I haven’t died…honest.

I haven’t died…honest.

 

Hello there, reader. Miss me? No? I don’t blame you. It’s been a busy couple months and I won’t bore you with the details all that much (moved the company I work for, bought a house, got married), but I promise, I have been busy and not just neglecting my writing!

I am doing much better with the whole GF thing. It’s more of a lifestyle change than anything, I think. You have to be REALLY careful what you eat and where you eat it from. What that does is pretty much discourage you from having any sort of social life at all (just kidding!). Actually, there are more and more places even here in the po-dunk town I live in that are offering GF options. Some of them are good…others, not so much.

For example, Staggering Ox is a local sandwich joint here in town that offers GF pizza! Let me tell you, it’s not perfect, but it IS pizza! I also read that Dominoes was going to be offering a GF option here soon, but that it wasn’t actually going to be 100% GF. What does that mean? Reduced gluten still is going to make people sick…and let’s not even start with cross contamination. I’m sure they have special pizza knives and ALWAYS use them to cut up the GF pizza. Riiiiight…

Another example is another local eatery called Steve’s Cafe. They now are offering a GF pancake plate! Once again, it’s not perfect but is a good treat if you are so inclined. I also worry about cross contamination here and have noticed my stomach making some bad sounds after eating there, but I never have full-blown gluten reactions, which is nice.

Baking is still fun, which is nice. I mean, who doesn’t like walking into a house with the smell of fresh baked goods? Ok…so it’s getting warmer out which means that baking is a little warmer than it would be if you, say, lived in Antarctica or had an air conditioner, but it’s still good eats! Along those lines, I made Gluten Free Upside Down Pineapple Muffins. Sadly, I don’t remember where I got the recipe for the cake part of them, but, as you can see from the picture, they turned out pretty good! Ok…so they aren’t really muffins either as they are the size of a softball, but they were delish! And, let’s face it, that’s all that matters.

During Mardi Gras, I also was able to find a good GF King Cake recipe (ok, so I took parts from 2-3 recipes and made my own, but it is the same idea). I’ll post that one up once I find the recipe again because King Cake is om nom x 10 (I even added apple filling to it!).

Anyway, that’s all for now I guess. Hope there is someone is out there that is reading this that gets something from my ramblings! As always, happy eating (because, what’s the point, otherwise?)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

