Home > Baking, Cooking, Gluten Intolerance, Pie > Even now, I get cravings.

Even now, I get cravings.

Alton Brown is a god among men...

Alton Brown is a god among men…

Greetings fellow lovers of food. Well, food lovers who aren’t loved by their food? People who enjoy food under certain constraints? Anyway, if you are reading this, either you are another of the growing number of those of us who have some sort of gluten allergy (be it Celiac Disease or just an intolerance for that stupid protein chain). I welcome you…you aren’t alone.

I was at the local coffee place the other morning (I’ll call it “Barstucks” just so nobody knows what place I’m talking about…hehe) and happened to look through the glass case at the fine assortment of baked goods and had my first real craving in a long time. You know, it’s been almost 2 years since I ran my little experiment and discovered that I have negative reactions to gluten…and I honestly thought I was over this “gluten craving” thing. Well, I’m sad to say that, no…I’m not. The apple fritter (which I realize is REALLY bad and not om nom at all) was calling my name. It wasn’t this quite whisper of a calling…it was a “name shouted from mountain top using a bull horn” type of calling. That fritter loved me, and I loved it. We would grow old together and…well, I wanted that fritter more than I’ve wanted any baked goods in quite a while.

Strangely, I just smiled and shook it off. I say “Strangely” because, let’s face it, when it comes to food some things are hard to ignore. I know, beyond the shadow of a doubt, that had I taken a bite of that flaky, sweet, baked deliciousness, that I would have been sick. Not just for an hour or two…but for days. It just wasn’t worth it. Nothing, really, is worth it to be honest.

I guess I’m writing all this down because I know I’m not the only one that fights urges. Sure, we all fight the urge to say words to co-workers who clearly aren’t using their brain (assuming they have one) or to smack those people upside the head (when they deserve it, I mean…hehe)…but fighting the urge to eat something that you know you shouldn’t, to me anyway, is more difficult. We can do this…we’re all strong people who don’t want to face the consequences of poor decisions. The thought of being sick for days (or up to a week sometimes!) isn’t worth the 5 minutes of sheer joy one would get from an apple fritter. I have to believe this is true…

Anyway, Thanksgiving just passed and Christmas is RIGHT around the corner. I still haven’t figure out how that was possible…but…sure enough, it is. My wife and I had a couple people over (none of which have food allergies) and I made a completely GF meal. It was OM NOM! The turkey (pictured above…all thanks go out to Alton Brown for the recipe!!) was perfect. I also made dressing out of some pumpkin bread that had been part of an experiment that didn’t have the desired results. Let me tell you…the sweet bread with the herbs and salty flavors were a PERFECT combination. Had two pies (one pumpkin and one pie I’m calling an Apple Crisp Pie) with GF crusts that were great as well. All-in-all, a very successful meal.

I’m starting to experiment some more with food and am having fun in the process. I made a batch of pumpkin bread (recipe in the blog somewhere) in which I substituted half of the pumpkin with apple sauce (the thought being Apple and Pumpkin are both Fall fruit/vegetables that both pair well with cinnamon and the other spices). It was om nom as well. Made some more pickles and pickled some beets with a friend of mine. More jam (strawberry and huckleberry this year) was also made. It’s been a productive Fall…and I’m looking forward to more experimentation as the year comes to a close.

If you are struggling…know that you aren’t alone. We all face the demons from time to time. We can do this…we can.

As always, happy (and healthy!) eating!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

