Home > Uncategorized > Mardi Gras Means King Cake – Gluten-Free!

Mardi Gras Means King Cake – Gluten-Free!

20170225_132810Ok, so it really doesn’t mean “King Cake”, but that’s one of the things I miss the most now that I live so far away from Louisiana and am Gluten Free. I’ve attempted to make King Cake several times over the last couple years and while the taste has always turned out pretty good, the looks…well, let’s just say that I would get 0 points for plating. This time, I used a bunt cake pan and, as you can see, it held the ring shape perfectly after baking.

Having said that, this year I did something different that, I’m pleased to say, worked out swimmingly and I plan on sharing what I did here. Keep in mind – you’ll need to make the dough the night before you want to bake this!

The thing that always got me was the dough (who can mess up the filling?!). This year, I went with a brioche dough instead of relying on either a cinnamon roll type dough or something similar.

Note: I recently read that for GF flours, you should always weigh the stuff as the grains are different sizes so you never get what you actually measure out. If you need a good GF flour recipe, I suggest using Betty Hagman’s tried and true 3:1:1/2 mix of Rice Flour: Potato Starch: Tapioca Starch until you get to the required weight/measure. Recipe as follows:

Gluten Free King Cake

1 ½ Cup warm water

1 Tbsp Yeast

1 Tbsp Salt

8 Large Eggs (beaten)

½ Cup Honey

3 Sticks (1 ½ Cups) Butter (melted)

7 ½ Cups (or 2 lbs 5.5 oz ) Gluten Free Flour

2 Tbsp Xanthan Gum

Combine the water, yeast, salt, honey, eggs and butter in a large mixing bowl (I used my stand mixer) and let sit for 10-15 minutes.

Start mixing in the flour/Xanthan Gum slowly (again, I used stand mixer), until everything is combined (the dough isn’t going to look like proper dough yet).

Lightly cover the mixing bowl with a tea towel and let this sit on the counter for a couple hours (I want to say I waited 4 hours or so just to be sure) and then…throw (or gently place) it in the fridge.

The Next Day:

Take half of the dough out of the mixing bowl (put the rest back in the fridge) and roll it out in a rectangular shape (I actually used the above mentioned tea towel as a ruler as its length was the same as the circumfrence of my bunt cake pan).

20170225_085110

Add whatever filling you want. You want to cover about 2/3 of the rolled out dough. I used a simple mixture of brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and nutmeg, but you can use whatever fillings you want…it’s your King Cake!

Roll this up starting on the long side where you have filling (not the blank long side).

Now, I rolled mine out on cling film which aided this next bit, but you may have a better suggestion/option: Pick up your King Cake roll and place it in a well-oiled bunt cake pan.

20170225_085659

Place this in a pre-heated oven at 350 and bake for 45-50 minutes (your mileage may vary).

When it’s done, take it out and let it rest for a while, then turn it out on a flat surface (whatever you are going to serve it on). You can then decorate the top with icing (I used powdered sugar and a little water) and the usual sprinkles (green, purple and gold).

20170225_09422520170225_102118

So…there you have it. This worked for me and I’m pleased with the results. If you try this out, let me know how it turned out and, as always, happy eating!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

