Home > Uncategorized > Passover – Ma’amoul Cookies

Passover – Ma’amoul Cookies

20170415_191933_1492452106603_resized

Over the weekend, we got to go to celebrate Passover with one of our family members (family by choice, which can be the best kind). She’s not so much into the pomp and circumstances that come along with it so, as one would expect, we focused on food. Most of the food (ok, 90% of it!) was made by her and was gluten free, so I got to have a weekend “off” from cooking. Except…

I was told about some cookies that were semi-traditional for Passover called Ma’amoul. They are date filled cookies that are just awesome. I’ve heavily modified the recipe I found on Food Network’s website if you look for it there (and want to make it not GF).

Ma’amoul Cookies

Filling:

  • 12 oz finely chopped dates
  • ¼ cup orange juice
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp orange zest

Dough:

  • 2 cups White Rice Flour
  • 2/3 cup Potato Starch
  • 1/3 cup Tapioca Flour/Starch
  • 1 ½ Tbsp Xanthan Gum
  • 1 ½ Tbsp Powdered Sugar
  • 1/8 tsp Salt
  • 1 cup Unsalted Butter
  • ¼ cup Canola Oil
  • ½ Coconut Milk (or cow milk works too)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Put all of the filling ingredients in a food processor and combine till uniform.

In a stand mixer (or mixer of your choice), add all of the dry ingredients and mix together, then add all of the wet ingredients and combine (but don’t over-work the dough or it will be bricks). At this point, my dough seemed dry, so I added a little more water and combined by hand till it just started sticking to my hands.

Take a golf ball sized piece of the dough and then put it in the palm of one hand, then use the other hand to flatten it out until it is about 3” across and circular in shape (I won’t lie, this was the hardest part…for me, what worked was to use my fist and then to smash and twist my fist into the dough).

Put about 1 Tbsp of the filling mixture into the dough, and work the edges around till you’ve covered all the date filling. Turn it over and then flatten it onto a piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet. Don’t flatten it too much or bad things will happen (think end of the world…or at the very least, end of the cookie).

Once you’ve worked your way through all the dough and filling, put the cookie sheets in the oven for 25-30 minutes. When they come out, you can press interesting shapes into them (I used the head parts of Star Wars cookie cutters). If you don’t want to use the shapes that is fine too, I guess. Then, lightly dust powdered sugar over the top and let cool. I don’t know what the point of putting the shapes onto the dough are as you cover them up with powdered sugar, but that’s what I read…so…

Anyway, as you can see from above, the cookies turned out really well and were well received. If you make these, don’t get frustrated with the flattening bit…it took me till the 8th one before I figured out what worked for me! As always, happy eating!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

